Saturday, March 5, 2011

March: AU student exhibit

Batavia High artists’ work featured at Aurora University gallery

AURORA, Ill.– Aurora University will open an art exhibit by Batavia High School students on Thursday, March 3, with a reception from 5 to 7 p.m. and scholarship presentations at 6 p.m.

The public is invited to the reception and exhibit through March 31 in the AU Schingoethe Art Gallery at the Schingoethe Center for Native American Cultures in Dunham Hall at 1400 Marseillaise Place.

Meg Bero, Executive Director of the Schingoethe Center, will present AU scholarships to the top four student artists. Awards are best in show, $1,500; first place, $1,000; second place, $750; and third place, $500. The scholarships are renewable annually to students who qualify.

Student artists will exhibit paintings, drawings, photography and other media.

Batavia art teachers are Jennifer Melendez, Andrea Schindlbeck and Dawn Zalkus.

Student artists are: Ian Bosak, Brendan McGee, Natalie Brooks, Naomi Viland, Katelyn Peercy, Bekah Gustin, Jenny Blatt, Jenna Guastella, Megan Pieterick, Ellyn Thesis, Gabby Domena, Braden Charles, Kelsey Riley, Diane Bernardoni, Kim Bartos, Bari Robinson, Brian Grebner, Marie Baldwin, Olivia Boyd, Eleana Daniel, Kelsey Fagan, Kendal McCabe, Amanda Hampe, Magueritte Mallory, Lexy Marks, Leslie Billings, Taylor Richardson, John Seagren, Kevin Kunz, Soobin Lee, Rachel Key, Ashlynn Handel, Sean Gamble, Callie Livengood, Tarin Butterfield, Kelly DalSanto, Ben Steskal.

The exhibit is free to the public. Hours are 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Fridays, and 1 to 4 p.m. Sundays.

Call (630) 844-7843 or visit for more information.

No comments:

Post a Comment